Announcing the Winners of the Grant Notley Memorial Scholarship!

The Grant Notley Memorial Scholarship is all about support for members of our local and their families. It’s about fostering creative thinkers who will lend their hands to the crucial work of unions.

This year’s four winners are young people who know the importance of social justice to the labour movement. They know that organizing improves the lives of workers through fair wages, essential benefits and healthier workplaces. They know that we’re strong and win victories when we stand together.

We’re proud to announce this year’s Grant Notley Memorial Scholarship winners: Charles Alegrio, Mateo Borges, Sadeeb Hossain, and Isabella Franco-Salazar.

Charles Alegrio is working on a Social Work diploma program at Edmonton’s Norquest College.
Mateo Borges is a Safeway cashier and full-time university student in Psychology.
Sadeeb Hossain is in the third year of a Bachelor of Health Sciences program at the University of Calgary, specializing in Bioinformatics.
Isabella Franco-Salazar is in the third year of a Bachelor of Chemical Sciences program at the University of Alberta.

Congratulations to all of our winners from the Scholarship Committee at UFCW Local 401!