Beginning of Sofina Bargaining: Your Involvement Matters

Collective bargaining begins

Your Union Bargaining Committee met and exchanged proposals with the Company on May 10, 2024. While this is just the beginning of the bargaining process, each side gave opening statements to discuss themes and future goals, followed by an exchange of proposals. After some brief discussions, we reviewed the proposal packages to end the day. Usually, the bargaining process addresses non-monetary items before discussing any monetary items.

Open and transparent bargaining

Under the new leadership of President Thomas Hesse and Secretary-Treasurer Richelle Stewart, and with the support of the Executive Board, the local has adopted an open and transparent approach to collective bargaining. This approach means that your Bargaining Committee will provide regular updates and create opportunities for you to be more involved as the process continues.  

As such, we have attached the initial Union Proposals (HERE) and Company Proposals (HERE). While these are initial positions, your union has some concerns about several of the proposals the Company has tabled, but it is too early to tell where their priorities lay. 

We can say that your Bargaining Committee will need your continued support through this challenging process to achieve a renewed Collective Agreement that you can be proud of.

IMPORTANT: If you did not receive a copy of the proposals by email, please contact our office to update your contact information, and we will send them to you. Alternatively, your Shop Stewards can provide you with a paper copy. 

Upcoming bargaining dates

Your Bargaining Committee has scheduled May 27-29, 2024, to continue discussions with the Company.

We will keep you updated as negotiations progress. Please contact your Bargaining Committee members if you have any questions. 

In solidarity,
Your UFCW Local 401 Union Bargaining Committee,
Devin Yeager (Chief Negotiator), Cheryl Watamaniuk (Union Representative), Mikale Adguy, Rosa Arcos, Vinco Comey, Leon Dupuis, Jaime Lopez-Barillas, Ben Miller, Asif Munir, and Jorge Rojas.

For a printable version of this document, click here.